The Buzz Of The City, As We Settle In It's Majesty
4:36 pm - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004
Song: Vanessa Carlton - San Francisco

Where are the tall buildings? The street after street lined with small shops? The crowds of people walking busily? The fountains, the river, the bridges, the city? I�m barely surviving this town. It is not a matter of friends, I�m making those, or of school, it�s going well. It is Eugene.

How can I live in a place where everything is closed on weekends? How can I live somewhere where the only Fred Meyers that I know of is a good drive away from my home, if I had a car? If you want to get anywhere here there is only the one bus line�and you better hope you�re going on a weekday. There are only two major movie theatres, two small and unimpressive malls. Where is my city?

I want to return to Portland, in all it�s metropolitan glory. I want a place where everything is an array of bus lines away, but it doesn�t matter, I�ll drive. Where you can walk Hawthorne, or 23rd or downtown and find a million cute shops. Where I know where to go for knish, or wanton noodle soup, or dessert outside.

I�d like to move out, on my own. I want to move to Seattle, or San Francisco, though at this point I would settle to be back in Portland. Especially since Seattle has become somewhat taboo for my presence and San Fran isn�t affordable just yet. I want to be back in a city. Back where there is huge technology and architecture, and the small sweet things, like children playing in fountains, all coinciding in the beautiful land of the town.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland