Make My Wish Come True
11:16 am - Saturday, Oct. 16, 2004
Song: Olivia Olsen - All I Want For Christmas Is You

We have such a gentle fall here. I wonder if it�s always like this, or if this is an unusual thing. It has rained only once or twice. Instead, the trees go ahead and change colors. There are flames of red and yellow here, where as in Portland, the leaves turn brown and are beaten to the ground by the rain showers. I�ve been told that Portland is much dryer this year as well though.

Looking out across the tree tops, I see the world I�ve always desired. Not Eugene, no, but to live in a place with real falls. A place where fall means this wide array of colors. I want a place where the winters are cold and crisp, with quite a few days of snow here and there. Of course, if I could, I would live in the days between October 25 and January 3.

I don�t know why I chose those, especially at times when I have truly good summers (I had a heartbreaking one), but there is a simplicity I love between those date, and there are the huge family holidays.

I love fall. I love the pumpkins and the leaves. I love preparing for Halloween. I love Christmas shopping. I love the tree lighting and all the Christmas specials. I love the Thanksgiving Day parade. I love the way family gets together, acts really obligated, and starts fights which dissipate the moment the food reaches the table.

So now if I could simply make it through this weekend alone, where all my friends have decided to take a trip to Portland, then I�ll be fine. I�ll be in the window. And if I could do all my homework for the rest of the year now, I�d adore that, even if it�s not possible.

Then I�ll get Halloween weekend and the Huskies game. I�ll get Thanksgiving break and the tree lighting and shopping on the best shopping day of the year.

Oh, it�s so romanticized. I see that. I still can�t wait until we get a Christmas tree.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland