Friends Are The Ones That I Lose 'Cause They'd Bleed Before You
11:08 am - Friday, Oct. 15, 2004
Song: Vanessa Carlton - Who's To Say

Maybe I�m just pushing my liberal views all over again. If you�ll hate me for disliking discrimination, our president, or wars started for the wrong reasons, please do not read ahead. I�d rather not alienate anyone, but I also have no desire to defend my views, because it will only become a circular discussion where we both stick to what we believe, and get nowhere but angry. If this will be the case, just skip on ahead to the last line, and have a good life.

Here�s what I had. I used to have a lot of faith in the people of this country. I had this belief that even when our government was making bad choices for us, well we were still a good bunch of people. That people here and I never thought this was exclusive to us, were for the most part truly good and well-meaning.

Then our country got attacked. The entire country hurt. Everyone remembers when and where they heard about it, down to whether they had brushed their teeth yet that day or not. Frantic calls to check on family and friends who with each person you found you were linked to someone closer and closer to the horror that to most of us was simply replaying on the TV. My uncle is a firefighter for the DCFD.

Suddenly though, that bond we had immediately thereafter began to retrogress and we became a people who cry �god blesses America,� never taking into account how ashamed of us God should be. Don�t believe me? Fine.

Freedom fries. A president who lies to us about weapons of mass destruction and people still plan to vote him right back into office. Large corporations and the wealthy getting the tax breaks. Enron and Halliburton. My friends and family in Iraq, fighting a war they think is, and I quote, �Pointless and fucked up� and yet we�re more concerned with our religious agenda and preserving the sanctity of a human institution. We fight about abortion, but we send our young men and women to die. It�s only important that life gets a chance to start, after that it was no value to this country.

We�re broke, we�ve angered the vast majority of the world, and we�re in Iraq on a wild goose chase for these weapons, while North Korea threatens us. And maybe it looks like I�m pushing my liberal agenda, but all I�m saying is, how long are we going to put up with being lied to? How long are we going to act like the battered girlfriend who takes him back every time because he swears this time he�ll be real good?

How much are the lives of those you love worth to you? How much is health care worth to you? How much is your job worth to you?

Please consider this. And vote. I don�t care what bubble you plan to fill in, but you have no right to complain if you didn�t even try. You must vote.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland