On Sleepless Roads, The Sleepless Go
1:14 pm - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004
Song: Jimmy Eat World - Hear You Me

The one that will be posted will be about pregnancy tests

The joyful evening that Kaeli and I spent the night before last. I waited all evening to get a hold of Kevin, because I needed to tell him something. That something being that, um, well, my period�s late, and shit. Nothing that anyone wants to hear before they turn twenty.

Unfortunately, instead of comforting me with, �it�ll be fine, don�t worry, don�t freak out�, Kev was as worried as I. I apparently hit him with this just after he found out that a friend of his had knocked up his girlfriend.

So Kaeli and I began our short little adventure. We walked down the block to 7-11, I bought Cosmo, but we couldn�t find pregnancy tests. So, I asked the clerk: �Do you have pregnancy tests?�
�No. Probably Safeway will�
�Alright, where is Safeway�
�18th and Pearl. Are you hoping for a yes or a no on this one?�
�A no.�
The clerk laughed at me, �well I hope you get those results then.�

Kaeli and I collected our things and set out the 22 or so blocks to Safeway. �That was the last question I expected,� Kaeli said. We finally got a good block of time to talk. Which despite living in a tiny room together, we haven�t had. Crunching through the autumn leaves, discussing raising children in this world, and what I�m supposed to do if it�s positive, about how it won�t be and about how at least we know where Safeway is, and how to get Listerine.

Got to Safeway, bought my two First Response tests and a box of Trojans. Hurried on home, and to the bathroom. Pee on the absorbent end and watch your urine make its way up the test strip. I sat on the phone with Kevin waiting for Kaeli to give me the �It�s been three minutes� sign.

One line. One simple little pink line. One little pink line that signals at you, �Not pregnant, not pregnant, not pregnant.�

Took the second test the next morning and got the same response. Thank god. Got to call Kevin and say, �Look, we both get to keep going to college�.
�You don�t know how relieved I am,� he told me. �Every step I�ve taken has said baby, baby, baby, and I couldn�t listen to pop songs at all.�
�No baby this time. You�ll have to try harder next month.�

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland