Life According To Me
10:38 pm - Monday, Jul. 19, 2004
Song: Let's Get Retarted - Black Eyed Peas

�It was my first clue that atheists are my brothers and sisters of a different faith, and every word they speak speaks of faith. Like me, they go as far as the legs of reason will carry them- and then they leap.
I�ll be honest about it. It is not atheists who get stuck in my craw, but agnostics. Doubt is useful for a while. We must all pass through the garden of Gethsemane. If Christ played with doubt, so must we. If Christ spent an anguished night in prayer, if He burst out from the Cross, �My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?� then surely we are also permitted doubt. But we must move on. To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is kin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.�
-Life Of Pi by Yann Martel

Just last week he made me feel sad because I had faith. We talked together and he told me he thought I was too smart to turn to religion. But I wasn�t turning to anything. I am not religion, or religious, but I have faith, and I know my beliefs. I stand behind the Ten Commandments, because even if our dear Moses didn�t stand on a mountain holding the code sent directly from god, there is a beauty there that should be followed; A code of human decency.

God has always been a part of my life. Usually though, when people ask me what I believe in, I say a higher power as opposed to God, because it avoids all the explaining all the attack that yes I believe in something for which there is no truth, because it makes sense in my life. I may be a super left winger when it comes to a lot of things, but this doesn�t mean that I don�t believe in God.

So many times I have sat in my window, just talking to him. Trying not to ask him for too much, but telling him everything he already knows. He says he doesn�t think anyone should claim to know anything, but I�m not saying I know, but this is what I believe and so I�m not doubting. We all have to believe something.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland