And I'm Gone
10:21 am - Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004
Song: Brace Yourself - Howie Day

In true Portland style, June is all damp wind and drizzle. Which isn�t all that bad for me. I enjoy the sound of raindrops on the roof, and the occasional flashes of lightning, though it makes me yearn for something that is long in the distance.

Fall. It is my favorite season. I love the silver sky and the light breezes. I love going outside and smelling fireplace smoke and seeing bright orange pumpkins on each porch all the way down the block.

Fall is full of sweet little activities. It�s always meant the month of school you love the most, the time before burnout and heavy workload. It means homecoming and this spark of excitement and give it 110%, which dies some time in January. It also means going to The Pumpkin Patch. Wandering through the Corn Maize and then climbing up onto the tractor and riding out to the field, trying to select the pumpkin that is perfect, and just light enough to put up with for the rest of the day.

Though looking at that idea that fall means homecoming, brings me only the following: High school is over. This fall won�t mean getting ready for the Homecoming dance with Michelle. It also won�t mean my favorite time of the year at Outdoor School. Standing on chilly mornings, dew still in the air trying to find a place to settle down for its morning nap. Sleepy sixth graders making a neat little line behind you, ready for flag and breakfast. This next fall, I can�t even look forward to curling up with Chris on the coach, watching the rain and sipping made-from-scratch hot chocolate. I probably won�t be home to go to the pumpkin patch.

This fall, I start at U of O: A completely new world for me, without all those home comforts to fall back on. I am excited. I wish I could skip summer and just start, because I want to know what college is all about. But skipping summer is an act I�d only regret later, and I need this time to say goodbye.

I�m very excited about college. But I see what I�ve listed, and perhaps the fact I�ve left high school is beginning to settle in, I�m ready to mourn my loss. I was never entirely happy there, but there were quite a few streaks of beauty.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland