Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da
12:58 pm - Sunday, May. 16, 2004
Song:

Sean said someday we�d feel dumb for wasting so much gas, but I still disagree. I think someday thinking about it, I�ll feel the same way I do now. Like last night was really quite nice.

We can�t figure out things to do unless we plan ahead of time. Instead it�s a bunch of simple, perfect memories. It�s following the Lexus that drove all to carefully until we learned where this stranger lived. It was the roadway that lipped quickly from pavement to gravel, and that moment that felt like flying without your stomach.

Finding inadvertently the same graveyard beneath the radio towers that last summer Rahnia and I wandered around in. Walking slowly up the hill, and sitting on the curb, talking about our feelings about this and that and where we were and what was said. Why would dead rise simply to chase us, but all the same, does it sound like someone�s here, and maybe, perhaps, we should head back to the car. I, too, am glad we didn�t see the crucifixion statue until after we were in the safety of the car.

There�s a park right over here that I spend a lot of time in. So he tells me as we roll down Hawthorne. I know this park. I too used to spend a lot of time there. Two blocks away from Janelle�s house.

I vandalized this park once. Janelle and I walked all the way to the Walgreens on 39th and Belmont to buy mustard and lipstick and anything else we could be bad with without leaving permanent marks. We walked to this park in which we spent hours of our time together, and sprayed things down with mustard blast and red lipstick drawings. We were really badass, and the rains came that night so we never had to feel guilty or dumb, because we never saw where our young rebellion would have taken us.

Here I sat with him, talking still. We had so much to say. Perhaps the usual time spent in the Clarion room gives us nothing. Who can talk under florescent lights. Everything smelled really pure. Like rain and summer, and simplicity. That is odd and awkward, but those were the images of the scents.

Evenings end, and ours ended so nicely, and a best of luck. And that hopeful sigh that says, �we can hold onto these friendships while in College, correct?�

Life goes on, la la, how that life goes on.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland