No More Days Of Vacation
10:59 am - Saturday, Oct. 26, 2002
Song:

"We welcome you to Outdoor school, we're might glad you're here. Whoo!
We'll send the air reverberating with a might cheer. Whoo!
We'll sing you in, we'll sing you out, to you we'll raise a might shout, HOORAY!
Hail, hail the gangs all here and welcome to Outdoor school"
-ODS Welcome song

I always forget the magic of camp until I'm there. I adore the sound of people singing songs in unison. I love the way kids are innocent all over again.

Suddenly, whats going on at home, or school. It doesn't matter. Everything is simple. You're supposed to be a kid. Everyone is.

Near the end of the week, thats when I understood what I was feeling. I would rather be there, with those people, then anywhere else in the world.

I don't have to worry about everything, because we all get along. We're a group of friends. The kind that wouldn't have gotten together through school... but here we're the same.

I don't have to deal with the people who refuse to understand, because they can't see anything any way but thier own.

There I'm Marzipan, here I'm Megan. I like the former so much more.

I didn't miss anything, but the I Love You's the boy gives.

Somwhow he doesn't fit into the camp world like I might want him to. That's my world.

I made the mistake of letting someone in that world before. I had Adam go to Westwind with me. That was one of my worst weeks of camp yet. he didn't understand it like I wanted him to.

I will hold true to it forever, that there is no place more amazing than camp.

Which makes me sad. I have three more sessions where i could be a student leader at outdoor school. Spring of this year, and fall and spring of next year. I have only one more stage to being a camper at Westwind- Teen Lead 2, and I'm trying for a job there instead. Actually, I'm trying for both and going for the one I get. I want to be Marzipan there too.

I don't want the experiance to end. I'm a camp kid, it's what I do. I don't know what there is when I grow up past that. It's the most amazing place.

"I'm camp Westwind born, and camp Westwind bred, and when i die, I'll be camp Westwind dead. So rah-rah, Camp Westwind, Westwind. Rah-rah Camp Westwind, Westwind" -Camp Westwind Song

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland