Dammit, I've Changed Again
8:02 pm - Saturday, Oct. 05, 2002
Song:

My two activities today have been writing a story and making a mix CD of country songs. Some how I have rediscovered a love for country music and now can�t get over it.

I remember these songs; I remember these words, songs and beats. I�m revisiting my past, though I hate the dwell on such things. I love the memories music brings back.

I used to go fishing with my dad. Drive into Mt. Hood National forest early in the morning. No matter what time of year, we almost always drove through snow patches. Pull into a dusty area designated parking area and grab our gear. I had my own little black, top-of-the-line trout pole. Carry my daypack, my pole, and wear my mini fishing vest. My dad even had one of those khaki colored hats with the lures decorating the brim, as a holding place.

We�d listen to country in the Blazer on the way up there, because KWJJ comes in.

Some days we wouldn�t go to the mountains, but rather through Estacada, my hometown, and fish at McIver Park. Or drop lures in Eagle creek. My favorite hole was that my dad called the caldron.

I never got over the day they renamed that spot, because the caldron had been stolen and someone thought the rock the river rushed around looked like a unicorn.

No matter what that isn�t the Unicorn hole.

I�m reminded that my dad and I used to have a really good relationship. I loved to fish, and watch the stock car races with him. When I was five I went deer hunting with him and my Uncle Paul. My mom always tells the story about me running into the house all excited,

�They�re cutting the head off, mom!�

I refuse to eat venison now.

I remember wearing orange so no hunter thought I was a �bitty little deer� and plugging my ears when they took shots.

Come to think of it, I used to be closer to everyone in my family.

There was a Christmas where I just had to have My Pretty Ballerina. It was all I wanted. That was the Christmas we all got snowed in.

That�s almost an impossibility here in Portland, but I�ve seen the pictures. Icy roads, and all the aunts, uncles and cousins over at our house. I got my doll and my hot coco. That was the first winter that I didn�t need one of the cousins to be me babysitter. I could take car of myself, and it was my house.

I later became the one all the younger kids were sent to as soon as I got to family gatherings.

Hey, go play with Megan!�

I just went downstairs at my mothers call. She wanted me to watch Trading Spaces with her. I said I�d be down in a minute. �Your dad�s making your favorite dinner,� she told me. �What, steak?� he asked.

Suddenly I realize he doesn�t know me anymore.

I like the breaded chicken and spinach now. Steak was my favorite back when I went fishing with him.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland