It's A Day For The People
11:52 am - Thursday, Jul. 04, 2002
Song:

Happy 4th Of July, America

In classic Oregon style, it is niether sunny nor warm on the 4th of July and if anyone thinks that will keep me out of the river, they are incorrect.

I don't know how I feel about the fouth. I can't pass up the date and not process in my mind what it stands for, but I really don't know how I feel.

I remember when I was a child I was watching tv with my dad and they were showing various pieces of art. One of them was Dread Scott�s "What Is the Proper Way to Display the U.S. Flag?" At the time when I saw this (An American flag going down a toliet in a jail cell) I was hurt. I actually felt hurt by it. I thought, my countrys more then that, my countrys better then that, that doesn't say anything about the entrie country.

That was the peak of my patriotism.

I didn't go super patriotic after September 11th like most. I mean, I felt terrible. But all I could think was that all those people died. How unfair it was that they should die when they did nothing. I didn't process that America was being attacked in the same way I processed that innocent people died.

I was scared. This whole things scares me.

But I wasn't proud to be an American. Because I feel lucky to live here, because it gives me alot of choices. I'd like to live in Europe though.

I don't even know what I am saying anymore. I love my America, but I love the people here, not the government.

That's it. I found my stance. Happy fouth of July to the people of America.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland