I'm Scared
10:12 am - Friday, Jul. 16, 2004
Song: Jason Mraz - Sleep All Day

This is me sitting and pondering too much. I�m beginning to build up a fear I didn�t have before. All those that I know with August start dates are beginning to pack and shop. I�ve been slowly accruing the things I need: Sheets and pillows, hangers, laundry baskets and seats. What do I take, and what do I leave. I need to get socks and undies, school supplies, more bedding, towels, bulk shampoo, shoes, clothes, wastebaskets. And I pack, and we go, and suddenly, school has begun again completely differently then it once was.

I go to register for classes and sit through orientation on the 22nd and I�m scared. Aren�t I supposed to know what I want by know? I have a major, but do I want that major? And I need to pick and first year interest group. Business and Anthropology? Journalism and History? Journalism and Politics? This is where I display to them my ability to create a life plan. See how ready I am. Don�t you worry about me, I may not have been stellar when it comes to the SATs, but I�ll be the best first year student you�ve ever seen.

Because college can�t be that hard, and I�m smart. Won�t we all just find our niche instantly? Won�t we all suddenly be surrounded by new friends? All my fears, they must be unfounded. Where is this fear of failure, this fear that I�ll be lonely, this fear that I�ll get lost, this fear I�ll hate all my classes, this fear of math, where is it founded?

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland