Losing That Cosmo Girl Edge
5:20 pm - Tuesday, Sept. 03, 2002
Song:

I still feel like a child playing dress up when I put on make-up. I still feel that holding that tube of lipstick in my hand is a grown up activity. The workings of businesswomen and housewives who put it on, though they don�t know who for.

When I was younger I would tell my mother proudly, �I�m going to be a haughty businesswoman�. I had a picture in my mind of heels and pinstripe skirts with matching jackets and pink button down collars peeking out. Lacy black bras the showed when you leaned over your bosses� desk and swept up hairstyles.

I didn�t read Cosmo, but I had the mindset already. Any magazine that shared its name with an alcoholic drink was good with me.

Yet somehow, over the years I�ve fallen away from that. The me that was formally comfortable in constant skirts and make up went to high school where she learned that hoodies and jeans will always win against the leg shaving requirements of nylons and the constant worry of getting dry clean only clothes dirty.

Yet as I reached in my purse today to apply my lipstick, I felt that familiar surge of this is oh-so grown-up.

I was wearing lipstick with un-brushed hair, in pajamas, washing dishes at four in the afternoon.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland