On The Beach, Saturday, 4 pm
4:55 pm - Monday, Jun. 24, 2002
Song:

Written:

Vanilla coka has an aftertaste that reminds me of angel food cake. I never much liked the bread useed to make strawberryshortcakes, so I always substitute a piece of angel food cake in it's place.

The strawberrys were always fresh. The syrup homemade.

Every year my family and I would grab our bowels and go to the strawberry patch. We would pick until the bowels were full, or in my case, I was full.

Then my mom and I would make jam and syrup. Strawberry shortcake was the congratulations for a job well done. It was from this I learned to make whipped cream from scratch.

A couple years ago our strawberry field of choice closed down. We went to pick at The Pumpkin Patch a few times, but those days seem to be behind us. Last week we bought a flat of strawberrys. No work at all.

Vanilla coke reminds me of days spent in the summer eating dirty strawberrys and pouring syrupy berrys on angel food cake.

previous : next



Newest

Archives

Random

Profile

Notes

Guestbook
Diaryland